A name

A name –

A name to last for years, etched into my mind,

as a dedication in gleaming and pure Parian marble.

An obelisk to your memory dominating the landscape of my thoughts;

you hang over me like the Word; The Word that was there in the beginning,

and will be there at the end; eternally part of me,

you become the Word.

 

To you, however, I am a face forgotten,

a name never grasped, the opaque form of a memory that slips away…

but I remember – remember and long –

long for those days spent together, that unspoken bond,

the good times, the bad times, the mundane times –

hoarding my memories of you, of us (enough for the both of us),

so you may forget, whilst I cannot.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

